Search and verify licenses

Texas CPA License

Here is a step-by-step guide to help you to get a CPA license in Texas.

Step 1. Complete Your Education

a. Find and contact the institutions in Texas that offer accounting programs to get detailed information. All the certified accountants must meet the educational criteria of the Texas Public Accountancy Act of the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy. It includes a bachelor’s degree consisting of at least 150 semester hours of college credit and a bachelor’s degree.

b. Make sure that your program is approved by the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy. All the programs in Texas need to have accreditation from an agency that is approved by the U.S. Department of Education. The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy approves the institutions that have accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools–Commission on Colleges and provide at least a bachelor’s degree.

  • If your program is not accredited or you take your program in a foreign college or university, first, the Board-approved education evaluation firm needs to review your credits and make a decision whether your credit is acceptable or not. Then you can take the Uniform CPA Exam. Your school does not meet these accreditation requirements, you must appeal to the Board for its recognition and approval.

c. Enroll in courses that can get you college credit. A bachelor’s degree and the following courses must be included in your 150-semester hours of college credit:

  • One three-semester hour ethics course taught face-to-face in a typical classroom environment. In order to find Board-approved ethics courses click here
  • 30 semester hours of upper-division accounting courses
  • 24 semester hours of upper-level business courses, with no more than 6 semester hours in any subject area

Step 2. Pass The Uniform CPA Exam

After meeting the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy educational standards, you may register for candidacy for the Uniform CPA Exam.

a. Fill in the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy’s Application of Intent (TSBPA). Which will assist the Board in determining if you can take the Uniform CPA Exam based on your credit and good character. You also need to send documents including:

  • Completed Application of Intent
  • Original transcripts from the college with the seal
  • Two passport-sized photos of you
  • A copy of your driver’s license or any other identification documents.
  • Copy of your social security card
  • Authorization and Release form for background check
  • Official certificate of good moral character
  • ADA accommodations request, if necessary
  • $50 application fee

b. When your application is approved, you will get the instruction of the CPA Examination Application

c. Then complete the online Eligibility Application. At the same time, you also need to pay $15 to the TSBPA for each section of the Uniform CPA Exam you wish to pass

d. After you will get an approval Notice from TSBPA. So, it gives you 90 days to complete the exam section that you want to take

e. Once you get the Approval Notice, you must pay the Exam Fee Payment

f. When they have your exam fees, you will get a Notice to Schedule from NASBA

g. In order to make an appointment for the exam in Texas visit the Prometric testing center website

h. So, the next step is to come to the testing center and take the exam

i. Your Uniform CPA Exam result note will be mailed to you after they will be tabulated

Step 3. Get The Necessary Experience.

Additionally, you are required to complete the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy’s experience in order to be able to get the license.

  • You need to complete a minimum of one year of work experience that can be either paid or volunteer work. Also, your school should help you with this process.
  • You have to show diversified, non-routine accounting competency through this work experience by delivering services.
  • Request you verifying CPA to complete the Work Experience Form, which will verify your accounting work experience and send it to the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy.

Step 4. Get Your Texas CPA License.

So, if you’ve passed the exam and have got the work experience, then it is time to get your license to work as a CPA. Double-check to make sure that you have done everything and are completely ready. Here is the list of Texas CPA license requirements list:

  • Have a bachelor’s degree and 150 education hours
  • Send the Application of Intent and all the documentation to the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
  • Complete the required work experience for a year
  • Pass the Rules of Professional Conduct exam
  • Complete the Board’s Oath of Office
  • Pay a license fee of $50

b. Fill in the Texas Application for CPA Certificate. To get the application contact the TSBPA.

Interstate Reciprocal License

If you have a license from another state but want to work as a CPA in Texas, you need to meet all of the requirements of a CPA certificate holder in Texas.

5. Stay Current Through Continuing Professional Education in Texas

In order to keep your CPA certificate in Texas, you need to meet the state’s continuing professional education (CPE) requirements.

  • Complete the continuing professional education (CPE) for 120 hours and at least 20 credits every year.
  • Get CPE credit through approved format.
  • Take Board-approved subject matter.
  • Complete the CPE Board-approved program.
  • Save all the copies of the certificate that you will get.
  • Additionally, you need to take the 4-hour ethics class every 2 years also it should be acceptable for the Board.

You can find the list of ethics courses here.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State